Why I (want to) blog

At first I signed up for a blog because I was told I should do it as an extension of my Heritage Makers Business. (I am an Independent Consultant) www.pickledmemories.com

I set up a blog but immediately felt intimidated by it and overwhelmed!

I felt like I was in over my head. Not really sure what I wanted. But I knew that I didn’t want it to be “just a commercial”.

I wanted it to be real, have soul and interest! I knew that much.

I felt paralyzed, afraid to make a move and do the “wrong thing!”

Began to feel personal like an analogy for my life.

Lost in the country, not really sure what my purpose is. Full of ideas, afraid to speak up say the wrong thing to the wrong person.

Feeling out of context!

Like I had gone soft, slowly removed all my corners in the event that I may offend another.

Which essentially left me feeling silenced and disconnected, purposeless, bumbling along.

I made a conscious effort to be more creative. Which started with seeking after and allowing the creative into my life.

I got a Photography Class as a present, took an all day Art Journalling Workshop. I bought art supplies, I ripped up magazines.

I found a magazine on ARTFUL BLOGGING (by Somerset Studios) and was blown away because I didn’t know there was such a thing!

I was struck by the beauty and simplicity of the blogs featured. (Nov/Dec/Jan 2011 issue)Seemed like they were all hands on images, drawn, painted, mixed media. It spoke to me in a way that resonated and made me excited!

I started buying magazines ARTFUL BLOGGING, THE ART OF PAPER AND MIXED MEDIA, CLOTH PAPER SCISSORS. I browsed them, fawned over the photos.

I kept in touch with the Art Journal teacher. I helped out  at the Art Gallery. I added artsy things on Facebook. I looked at them on the internet. I brought my camera on my daily walk abouts.

I stumbled across Choosing Beauty with Liv Lane. (www.choosingbeauty.com) Liked her simple blog, read about her blog e-course got excited!

I waffled about it even posted a question. I took the plunge signed up for it.

Excitedly checked in, every time I read a new post, I could hardly breathe, felt a wave of nausea.

Quickly felt that finding my meaning and purpose for my blog crosses over into my life. all the ways that I feel lost, drifting, not fulfilling my purpose, overlooked, unseen and OUT OF CONTEXT!

Time to dust off and remember who I am! Here I am!

Why I want to blog?

I want to blog:

~ to reach out to my customers and potential customers

~ to explore/express my creativity

~ to be involved with the world beyond my doorstep

~ remember who I am !

~ to stay in touch, be connected!

~debbra

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why I (want to) blog

  1. Ilde Pascucci says:

    Love you wish I were as brave as you
    Always your friend

    • Thanks Ilde
      I’m thinking there is a fine line between bravery and foolishness! 🙂

      “If you don’t take risks, you’ll have a wasted soul.”
      — Drew Barrymore

      ~debbra

  2. LOVING on this raw goodness
    and the place you’re building
    for it to shine!
    Really, well done, you:)
    Bright summertime grace to you
    and your blogging,
    Jennifer

  3. Theresa says:

    Hello Debbra, Thanks for stopping by my blog. Congrats on your new beginnings of your blog. Stop by anytime. I look forward to see how you express your creativity and creative voice while reaching out! Theresa msartisttheresahuse.blogspot.com and if you would like to view my new project of creative inspiration just visit me here at dearcreatives.com

Leave a Reply

